Crocheted Button-On Steering Wheel Cover!

Hello everyone!

I know it’s been a while since I last posted and I’m sorry for that, but like I said I’m new at this blogging thing and I’m not quite sure of what I should post on here lol!  Anywho, for those of you who follow my Facebook Page for BTW I Crochet, you may have seen that I recently started crocheting the very first project for MYSELF!!!  ANDDDD  I finished it too!!!  As promised, I am posting the pattern that I made and photos of it!

I don’t know about you guys, but I HATE getting into my car and the steering wheel is either icy cold in the winter or scorching hot in the summer…and it hurts to put your hands on it.  Yes, I know that they sell steering wheel covers in many different styles.  However, it seems that everyone I come across is both extremely hard to put on and take off and they always reek of gas, which then transfers to your hands.  The smell of gas is not an easy scent to remove from your hands either.  This being said, I decided to make my own.  Yes, I know that there are generic steering wheel cover crochet patterns out there, but I wanted one that I knew for sure wouldn’t slip as I was driving and that was easy to put on and take off.  I took countless measurements…which isn’t easy considering that a steering wheel is round and I couldn’t remove it from my car to measure…I used electrical tape to tape it on as I went around lol.  I always crocheted in my car for some of it and held up my work as I went along to match up where to stop and start my different sized rows.  If I wasn’t crocheting in my car to do this, I was going back and forth to my car to compare lol.  So anyway, here is the pattern!  I will also include a PDF pattern too, for those of you who want to print it.

SECTION A
Row 1: FCH 13 (or until about 4″ wide), CH 2, turn.
(Please note that each CH 2 does NOT count as the 1st HDC of each row, and your 1st HDC of each row should be in the same stitch as each CH 2)
Rows 2-10: HDC 13, CH 2, turn

SECTION B
Rows 11-12: HDC 8, CH 2, turn

SECTION C
Row 13: HDC 8, FCH 5, CH 2, turn
Rows 14-26: HDC 13, CH 2, turn

SECTION D
Rows 27-32: HDC 6, CH 2, turn

SECTION E
Row 33: HDC 6, FCH 7, CH 2, turn
Rows 34-78: HDC 13, CH 2, turn

SECTION F
Rows 79-84: HDC 6, CH 2, turn

SECTION G
Row 85: HDC 6, FCH 7, CH 2, turn
Rows 86-98: HDC 13, CH 2, turn

SECTION H
Rows 99-100: HDC 8, CH 2, turn.  Fasten off and weave in ends.

Put ends of Row 1 (beginning of Section A) and Row 100 (last row of Section H) together, and SC together, with wrong side facing.  Fasten off and weave in ends.

Sew buttons on to the side that has no dips in it, about 1/2″ in as follows (or view the diagram in the PDF pattern):

2 Buttons in Section A, one on each end of section, about 2 rows in from corners on opposite side.

3 Buttons in Section C, one on each end of section, about 2 rows in from corners on opposite side, and one in the middle of the section.

3 Buttons in Section E, one on each end of section, about 2 rows in from the corners on opposite and one in the middle of the section.  Then sew 2 additional buttons on in the middle of the first button of Section E and the middle button, and between the middle button and last button of Section E.

3 Buttons in Section G, one on each end of section, about 2 rows in from corners on opposite side, and one in the middle of the section.

Line your cover up to your steering wheel, with section A at the bottom section, and sections B-H going counter clockwise around the steering wheel.  Button up, securing them between HDC stitches in your rows on the opposite side.

Now you’ve got a new steering wheel cover on!!!

Steering Wheel Cover

Right Side, Shows How Cover Wraps Around Each Section

Steering Wheel Cover

Bottom Left, also shows how it wraps around

Steering Wheel Cover

The Entire Cover in Use!!!

Crocheted Button-On Steering Wheel Cover

I hope you enjoy and find it useful!  Also, I’d love to see pictures if any of you make it!  Happy Hooking Everyone!

 

Posted on March 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

